VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Evening all - as you can see I'm new to the forum although I have been lurking for while, trying to decide if a van would be right for me - and I think the answer is yes - difintely!
So, I am hoping that some of you may be able to help get me started on the road to finding my first T5.

I'm looking for a van that I can modify later (due to a limited budget at this time) into a full blown camper van.

Can I have some advice on the best van to go for (panel van, kombi,floor fixings etc.) initially baring in mind my budget of say £7K (although I may be able to stretch to 10k for something pretty special).

Of course if £7k is simply not enough - even to get started then please feel free to set me straight! T:

Also advice on what I can expect to find at this price (age, condition, mileage etc.) is also very welcome.

Many thanks

Steve

·
Registered
116 Posts
hi steve, i'm no expert as i'm a newbie myself but have just bought a van so can pass on my limited experience.

as for advice on which to go for i'd say you really need to know what you want to do with your van then decide if the seat rails/fixings, single seats, windows etc of kombis and other variations are required.

i went for a panel van as it offers me a totally blank canvas, my only stipulation was that i wanted a tailgate and low mileage.

we've only been looking for a few weeks and missed a van in worcester a couple of weeks ago, it was a 55 85bhp with 22k and was up for £7000+vat.

yesterday we bought an 05 with 26k for 6500+vat (it was originally 7500+vat), i think we got lucky and picked up bargain as it's immaculate and we're well pleased.

the only thing that i was worried about was the 85bhp and planned to have it remapped but i travelled back 125miles up the m1 at 70-80 no problem, it's got better performance than the l200 that it's replacing and that's supposed to have 113bhp so i might leave it be.