VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am a noob
Just bought a used 1996 VW Transporter (T4) anyway it has a 2.0Ltr Petrol engine done 225,000 Km's on the clock.
First day driving it yesterday, it lost all power when I accelerated hard and then the engine completely cut out and wouldn't start again for about 10-15 minutes.
When it did start I drove it back home (10-15 minutes) cut out again but quickly started 1-2 mins, was still losing power all the way home whenever I tried to accelerate hard.
It seems to go kind of okay if I slowly and gently accelerate!!!
Once home, I lifted the bonnet. The engine smelled really hot & I immediately noticed a hose that was misshapen, very warm and half melted looking (it lives directly in front near the oil fill area)
I touched it slightly, felt it was indeed warm, then tried to move it a bit and made a hole or two in it. So pulled it off completely & it just came away like butter, leaving the end bits fastened still in place.
It had lots of thick black gunk on it and the engine parts nearby to it & inside the hose it looked like it was all cracked/baked but soft enough to be malleable as it was still very warm.
It's a right mess. I've cleaned the area where the part # reads: 044103493D don't know if it was the right hose for the job in the first place however???
I'm in Victoria, Australia Melbourne area.
As the buyer, the deal struck with seller was that I got the certificate of road worthiness done myself. The van was only $2,880 on eBay so I had anticipated or expected I'd probably need to spend a couple of thousand to get it ship-shape... so, happy taking that chance, I promptly bought it and decided to take it to the same mechanic that the seller used for servicing the vehicle, thinking he would indeed be familiar with this vehicle.