VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, quite a newbie here but im always keen to learn, i have done a lot of research into leisure batteries and i am just about to purchase one. I've decided to get a 75ah numax leisure battery, 100amp split charge relay with 80amp fuses on each side and have ran some 16mm2 cable already to be hooked up once i purchase everything. I'm planning on spending two weeks in france living out the van and have 4 led lights, a small flip down tv, 2 12v sockets and hoping to run a 150w inverter for my ps2. Will a 75ah battery be adequet enough to run this? Also when it comes to using a leisure battery charger i havent the foggiest. Do i need one or will my alternator keep it charged, ill be doing almost 3000miles over 14days. Half way through my trip I have 3 nights booked in at a campsite which states "with electricity 6A" on its website so i guess i could charge the leisure battery off that somehow, but my questions are:

1) do i need a certain type of charger to do this, if so is there a charger i can get that i could use here and at home if i ever needed to charge it at home?
2) how long would it take to charge the battery?
3) can i charge the battery and use it for the appliances at the same time?

This is my first time going away and i'm hoping not to run into any problems, also i don't have a lot of money to buy a charger if needed, so the cheaper the better.

I really hope someone can help :*

·
Registered
4,464 Posts