VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Over the weekend I lost power steering fluid.

Opened the reservoir and was full of bubbles, but after leaving it to settle the reservoir was empty. Driving caused a sort of vibrating whine noise especially on turning. I topped it up using about 250ml oil from halfords (they only had one type), and drove home.

Before I got home (2hrs drive) the reservoir was empty again so I am going to have to sort this out asap.

I've no experience with power steering faults and haven't found any good guides on here yet so was hoping to get a "what to check first" sort of bullet point check list.

Van is a 53 plate 1.9 axb engine. no aircon.

Advice much appreciated folks.

·
Registered
1,587 Posts
Check the ends of the steering rack where the rubber gators are..
Leaks from there are common and expensive.
Check the pulley on the power steering pump for fluid ( right at the bottom of the engine at the front, drivers side) they also leak from the shaft seals on the pump. (Easy ish DIY job).

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok so check:

1: steering rack gaitors (both sides) for oil leaks

2: power steering pump belt for oil

Anything else?

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So i've jumped over the van.

On the offside I have what I would call an oil explosion, rather than a leak.

I don't know how the steering rack or components work, but to my untrained eye, it doesn't appear to be an oil leak from the rack but something else.

Oil is everywhere. it's pooled on the antiroll bar mount, the subframe is caked, etc. I've tried to upload a video here for ya'll to see and give opinions / offer advice on where else to look. Please excuse the one slip of the tongue in the video.

Please do post your thoughts on what the problem is.

Thanks

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #6