VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Kenwood head unit that every time I turn the ignition off loses its preset stations. Even tried swopping it with a Sony unit that I have lying around and that does the same!
Anybody got any ideas? I am not good with electrics so please make any advice as simple as possible.
Thanks.

·
Want Electrics? Go Wildebus!
8,171 Posts
I have a Kenwood head unit that every time I turn the ignition off loses its preset stations. Even tried swopping it with a Sony unit that I have lying around and that does the same!
Anybody got any ideas? I am not good with electrics so please make any advice as simple as possible.
Thanks.
You need to swap the yellow and red leads around in the radio loom (these will be on pluggable connectors specifically to be able to do this).
VW wire them in reverse to the default.

Once you do that, the problem will be fixed T:

·
Registered
968 Posts
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for this reply.

I thought I would just have to live with my stereo being like this after I'd paid quite a bit for a decent Sony DAB stereo, swapped the red and yellow cables last night and it now works a dream!

·
Registered
968 Posts
Quick question, if I wanted to wire in a dashcam that only came on with the ignition (the dashcam wire has one red cable and one black) would it be the red wire or the yellow for the red dashcam wire and where would I wire the black dashcam wire to?

thanks.

·
Registered
602 Posts
Quick question, if I wanted to wire in a dashcam that only came on with the ignition (the dashcam wire has one red cable and one black) would it be the red wire or the yellow for the red dashcam wire and where would I wire the black dashcam wire to?

thanks.
it needs to come from an ignition live source. plenty in fusebox

·
8,171 Posts

thanks.