VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been having major problems starting my 1.9 abl engine first thing . It's more of an issue on a hill facing upwards. I was having a look today and the yellow pipe that goes from the fuel filter to the injector has a slight split by the base , Could this be the issue ? . Also it's standard fuel pipe that it sticks into , can I use the 4mm braided type ? . Sorry for stupid question but I don't understand fuel systems .

Andy

·
Premium Member
174 Posts
I had a similar issue on my old car. The hose had a split and was letting air in causing fuel to return to the tank. Hence being harder to start.

I replaced hose with some fuel hose and jubilee clips to sort the problem.

It's the internal diameter of the pipe you need to check before ordering new hoses.

Jas

·
Premium Member
1,999 Posts
I'm no expert mate but it could be your injector seals. Fuel runs back to the tank if as you say sat on an incline. Please don't go and change these with a proper test! Just trying to throw something the mix and bump your post.

I hope you get it fixed buddy.

·
Registered
3,877 Posts
I would suggest visiting a garage and paying for rectification and repair.

Any visible damage to fuel hoses is immediate cause for concern, and fuel systems arent exactly amateur territory even for DIY enthusiasts.

If I had to guess it sounds like air is bleeding into the system.

·
Full of Cr*p....
8,389 Posts
I would suggest visiting a garage and paying for rectification and repair.

Any visible damage to fuel hoses is immediate cause for concern, and fuel systems arent exactly amateur territory even for DIY enthusiasts.

If I had to guess it sounds like air is bleeding into the system.
Are you really saying that it's beyond a simple-minded T4 owner to replace a few rubber pipes?
FFS...it's the 1st thing people say to change, and people do it in Halfords carpark!