VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie so hope I'm not posting this in the wrong area - flame me gently if so!

I've got a T4 Reimo with sliding variotech seat - with 2 lapbelts. Problem is that I've got 2 kids, and the second one is growing out of his "baby" car seat and needs a booster seat. Booster seats need 3 point (lap and shoulder) belts, so I've been looking at my options around this and it's tricky to say the least. I could get a new variotech seat with 3 point belts, but they are horrendously expensive (£3k+). I asked my garage about fixing seat belt mounting points to the van, which they said they could do, but I'd also need to bolt down the sliding back seat otherwise it'd fail the MOT. This would be impracticle as Reimo vans need the seat to slide around so you can open the various cupboards.
The guys at Middlesex Motor Caravans make their vans with sliding Reimo seats and mounted belts, and they tell me there is not a problem with MOTs - which could solve my problems, but I'd love to know if any one else has resolved a problem like this?

Cheers
Rich

·
Registered
1,801 Posts
If you want some more info please feel free to call me.

I had a Reimo van and can describe what you need.

The seat can lock into two positions for traveling as you know.

In the forward setting you use the middle seat belt points.
(Just inside the sliding door.)

Reimo do a special long belt to fit over the cupboards if they are fitted.

You can also get one for the passenger if the normal one is to short to fit through your child seat.

Like i said give me a shout if more help needed.

Rob

·
Premium Member
5,208 Posts
Middlesex Motorcaravans fitted my seatbelts with my Variotech.

Will post some pics for you later

Simon.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4