VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Had the 1.9 oil pressure checked the other day, supposed to be 30psi at 2000rpms was coming out at 75psi....

Anyone experienced this or have any knowledge on it?

I've looked on the web and can find faulty oil pressure sensor on the toureg forum.

Cheers

·
Registered
320 Posts
High oil pressure is a lot rarer than low pressure. The usual cause is a stuck PRV in the oil pump (sometimes seperate from the pump - I'm not sure on the Transporters as I'm new to ownership). The next usual suspect is a blockage somewhere - like a gallery or occasionally the filter. It is sometimes also caused by someone using incorrect viscosity oil (ie too thick).

So, best place to start, in my humble opinion, is to dump the oil, flush it through with a good flushing oil, replace filter and refill with correct viscosity oil.
If that doesn't work, find the PRV and check/ get it checked for serviceability.

An afterthought - first thing to do is check the dipstick and oil filler cap for nasty looking oil, if it 'looks' like sewage you probably need a good flush and replen.

Hope that's a bit of a help?

·
Registered
320 Posts
Another afterthought, sorry, have you had the van long or has it had a recent recon engine or rebuild.
Incorrect build tolerences (tight bearings etc) can also cause excessively high oil pressure at high RPM - but usually OKish at idle.

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just had a new turbo, oil and filter with in last month. Would a restricted turbo oil feed cause it do you think?

·
Registered
320 Posts
Just had a new turbo, oil and filter with in last month. Would a restricted turbo oil feed cause it do you think?
I wouldn't think so, not if the pump PRV is operating. I don't pick up my T5 until Friday so I can't even go outside and have a look for you. There's probably two pressure switches on yours, a low and a high.