VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone im new to this so please be gentle, we bought our first van about a week ago and the guy we got it from said he had disconnected the central locking as he had locked him self out of the van with the keys insid which i have no reason to dis belive, however i would like to reconnect it, could anyone kindly advise me on the basics of howe the central locking system works and/or how to re-connect. :*

THANK YOU.

·
Registered
1,696 Posts
2 master units in the front doors. Slave units in the other doors.
You should have a relay control unit under the dash somewhere. Check the fuse to see if it has been down powered by remove in it.
Pull both front door panels of and have a look at the wires going through the door bellows.

·
Registered
305 Posts
One of the most important things to check is the rubber when you open your front van doors, inside this rubber is where cables go from the van to the door, These cables often get damaged and even seperated from years of opening and closing the doors, Ive seen some nasties when the rubber was pulled back, you can put the rubber back no bother you may have to re run the cable with some trailer cable youll find in any good auto factors, if needs be re run and get the solder out!

Good luck!

·
Registered
267 Posts
One of the most important things to check is the rubber when you open your front van doors, inside this rubber is where cables go from the van to the door, These cables often get damaged and even seperated from years of opening and closing the doors, Ive seen some nasties when the rubber was pulled back, you can put the rubber back no bother you may have to re run the cable with some trailer cable youll find in any good auto factors, if needs be re run and get the solder out!

Good luck!