VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have bought a Rock and Roll bed from my neighbour and now want to get it installed. I asked my garage and he wouldn't do it because he wasn't certified to do so, and said nobody should do it unless they are, for legal and insurance reasons I'm assuming. He also said that if it isn't installed by someone certified I could have problems for future MOT's and even selling unless I have the document to say it was done right. I see where he's coming from but I find it hard to believe. I'm a complete novice so wouldn't attempt it on my own but I probably know 10 handy people I would trust to know what they were doing to help me, or should I find a garage that is registered? Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
Hi mate. I think he didnt want to do the job to be fair.

Ive literally just finished fitting a couple of seats in mine, properly i must add in tracks, just rang my insurance just now (adrian flux) and there now notified with no effect on my premium.

IF i was to have an accident and the seats were at fault i can probly bet that the insurance will use that to not pay out. But ive fitted them properly, and they have been told so whats more needs to be done.

You can get a coach builder to fit it for you if your concerned about it. It will probly cost around 3-400 maybe for tracks ect

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok cheers for that. I'll ring my insurance company and find out what they say. If I can avoid spending 3-400 then I will! It seems like a relatively simple job for someone who has a bit of knowledge. Am I right in thinking there are kits/stencils etc so you get it in the right place using the right bolts?

·
Premium Member
3,166 Posts
It's a relatively easy job to do and there should be fixing points for the bolts...if not spreader plates underneath would distribute the load. There are threads on the Forum about the subject.