VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Folks,

Firstly, I hope I'm posting in the right area for this topic. If not, please do advise, thanks :)

I'm a newbie here and I'm seeking the benefit of this huge forums advice. I currently haven't purchased a T4/T5 van. I'm torn between all the decisions to be made! For example, do I buy a base van and self build or buy a ready converted used camper van? Do I go high top or pop top? What layout do I chose? And on, and on and on..! Lots of decisions to be made but I'm finding the research great fun! So, in order to help you help me I guess I should explain or describe how I intend to use the camper.

Because I own my own business I have the benefit of changing how I work. Over the last year or so I have changed my working week and now work 3.5 to 4 days per week allowing me the flexibility to take long weekends. Now that I've created the habit of having long weekends I want to use them to do some touring. I am based in Edinburgh, Scotland and initially plan to tour the Scottish Highlands and Islands, both winter and summer. I also plan to take long weekend trips to England, Wales & Ireland. When I've completed that I intend to take slightly longer trips around Europe. So, plenty of touring, driving & sightseeing to keep me busy for the next few years!

During these trips I'm quite happy to use camping sites but also intend to do some wild camping where possible. I'll predominantly be travelling by myself, though, on occasions there will be folk joining me for various parts of the planned trips, so, will need to be able to accommodate two sleeping.