VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
previously known as "Jono12"
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been to look at a van which I'm pretty keen on but it has no service history. Its on 160000 miles.
Have many of you guys bought vans with no service history?
I know its been serviced recently and I'd guess its due a cambelt. Body work looks tidy and drives well (as far as I can tell, I've never driven a van before and I'm no mechanic)

Would you buy it??

·
Registered
283 Posts
Probably not TBH.
T4 engines can go on for ever, but they must have regular oil and filter changes. Diesels are tough on their oil.
I'd want to see proof of oil changes at least every 10,000miles.
I know the temptation is to buy the first van you see, but there are always better ones just around the corner.........:)
Good luck in your search!

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
I bought one with no history and new i was taking a big risk but one year on,cam belt,water pump and services done ive had no problems and its just gone through its mot and only needed a rear shock and steering gaiter.

·
previously known as "Jono12"
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanx guys
Ive just been on the VOSA website to check previous MOT history and since 2006 its failed twice. due to Faulty horn(twice), low coolant levels and a bald tyre. Nothing too alarming there!
The place I'm thinking of buying from has said to me if theres any probs I can take it back to them, I will make sure I get that in writing if thats the case.
I dont know what to do....

·
Registered
1,779 Posts
Are you going to spend a fair chunk on it?
You could buy a van with every stamp in the book, it's still no gurantee that something wont happen to it.
If you can get some written gurantee from the garage then that's some back up at least.

Full service and a cambelt change when you buy it and start the service history from when you've bought it T:

·
Banned
10,255 Posts
Are you going to spend a fair chunk on it?