VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok to keep it simple I'm only looking for answers from folk who use veg oil as fuel, this is to help those who are unsure.
I get people asking me all the time if their van will run on veggie but I'm no expert so I don't know :*

1. So what engine do you run?
    2. how many miles have you run on veggie oil?
    3. what mix do you use?
    4. what problems have you come across if any?

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I run a 1999 1.9td
done about 10,000 miles on veggie
100% veg in summer and 50/50 in winter. mostly mix with diesel but have tried unleaded
Not come across any problem (cold starting or poor running)

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
1991 2.4d AAB engine

Run veggie oil for in excess of 30,000 miles.

50% in winter and upto 80% summer.

Only problem I have is that at anymore than 80% I get a leak from my fuel pump! (Gasket letting by and can't be bothered to change it yet! lol)

·
Registered
3,077 Posts
1996 1.9d
about 5000 miles (cant be exact coz speedo dont work)
100%
no probs as yet (fingures crossed)

·
Registered
2,413 Posts
2000 1.9tdi
So far, ran a few tanks full at 50/50
No pros at all.
Runs much better than on assda diesel.

·
Registered
29 Posts
J Reg 2.4, AAB code
Started running 3 weeks ago @ 50/50 NVO/Derv and covered approx 400 miles with out any issues,
Only thing i did to start was changed the fuel filter and will change again at 500 miles
going to step it up when things get warmer and see if i can go 100% :ILU::ILU:

·
Registered
513 Posts
Is anybody running a 2.5 tdi? Use to run my 1.9tdi on 100%, Recently sold and got a 2.5 but i have been told you can't run them on oil..... Is there any truth in this?

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
Is anybody running a 2.5 tdi? Use to run my 1.9tdi on 100%, Recently sold and got a 2.5 but i have been told you can't run them on oil..... Is there any truth in this?