VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I have a 2.4. Aac deisel. 150k on the clock. Brilliant van runs great on motorway but as soon as I hit a slight incline it slows right down.
going over steep hills last week In the highlands of Scotland and was in 1st gear screaming up some hills. now noticing when I turn off ignition I’m getting a thump like noise under passenger footwell? I’m a keen diy mechanic but think it may need a garage to solve this as read it may be timing?Any help appreciated thanks

·
Registered
118 Posts
Has it always behaved in this way ?Or is it new behaviour ?Pump timing will not alter itself as long as the belt has tension etc.But if it has always in your ownership lacked power it could be pump timing ,which has been wrong all along .The thump COULD be a worn out bush in the "dog bone " shaped mount which connects the engine to front subframe .

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Has it always behaved in this way ?Or is it new behaviour ?Pump timing will not alter itself as long as the belt has tension etc.But if it has always in your ownership lacked power it could be pump timing ,which has been wrong all along .The thump COULD be a worn out bush in the "dog bone " shaped mount which connects the engine to front subframe .
Thanks for your reply. We have owned it for a year. It’s gradually got worse. A friend of a friend who’s a mechanic suggested the flap/thump I’m getting from the air intake maybe a sticking valve which then burps out air back once the engine is shut off. The noise is definitely coming from the air intake passenger side. Any tips on sticking valves?

thanks

·
Registered
118 Posts