VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ready to get started on the engine, but have no socket set. had a good look and have no idea whats good for the money. Got about £50 to £60 to spend, is this cheapy cheap or mid range, i have no idea help please... draper, halfrauds, i dunno.

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
trade card you say... who, where, when, what do you have to be to get one. i'm a teacher, i bet that doesn't count. anyone in the chesterfield area with a trade card want to buy my socket set.

anyway off to halfords, me thinks!

·
Registered
670 Posts
Blag it, I did. Although I am also an aircraft engineer, I had no evidence or ID on me, just go in and ask for one. Say you work in the VW garage nearby or something. It will work better if you've got the tools you want in your hand ready to buy......

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
when i was at college a few years ago a few of us went in there and asked for trade cards and they gave em no questions asked! jus ask at the parts desk!

Personally, i think you cant go far wrong with halfrauds sockets - you could spend thousands on snap on etc but at the end of the day a socket is a socket if you bust any of them you walk in there and they replace it on the spot for free, ive done it without a reciept a coupla times, that being said ive given my halfrauds tools a lot of abuse and they stand up pretty goodT:

·
Registered
165 Posts
I'm not a fan of Halfords, but I must agree that their socket sets are very good, I've had a set for a few years now, and they are very well made and the ratchet makes a great hammer/pry bar, what I'm trying to say is that I have abused mine and it stills works as good as the day it was bought. I think I paid about £40 for a 30 piece kit in a plastic box.

·
Premium Member
3,400 Posts