VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm in the process of replacing the dead leisure battery on my T5 camper. I've got a 250W solar panel on the roof, so am going for AGM batteries this time around.

I decided to get an extra battery, so I would have 2 leisure batteries to double my capacity for off grid camping.

However, my electrician is concerned that having three batteries running off the alternator could be dangerous, and that I ought to upgrade the alternator. So Q1 is, is this necessary? Does anyone here have any experience of this? Apparently Californias have an alternator rated at 180 W (?) for this reason?

Q2 is, would it be possible to just rely on the solar panel to charge the 2 batteries and not have the alternator connected at all? I've been trying to understand the arithmetic of amps and A-h capacities, and to me it looks feasible, but I'm really no expert at all. The problem is the variability of sunshine of course, and the reality that I consume more power in the winter when the sun is least.

·
Special Rapporteur
9,761 Posts
Q2 is, would it be possible to just rely on the solar panel to charge the 2 batteries and not have the alternator connected at all? I've been trying to understand the arithmetic of amps and A-h capacities, and to me it looks feasible, but I'm really no expert at all. The problem is the variability of sunshine of course, and the reality that I consume more power in the winter when the sun is least.
Whether it's feasible depends on how much power you use. If you use - on average - more power than the 250W panel generates, then it's not a viable solution, but as you don't say how much you use, nobody can answer the question!