VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am as green as grass to this forum, but i'm a fast learner so please forgive my lack of knowledge!

Im in need of some help, I have a budget of 7.5 - 8.5 k to have a nice t4 swb camper conversion, which will have to be classified as a camper - to benefit from cheaper insurance.

I have never worked on a car / vehicle before, but i am a dab hand at DY and i dont feel daunted about a project.

So i need help on what i should do.

1.) Buy a base van - panel van and completely convert from scratch inc windows
2.) Buy a van ready insulted and lined (plenty on ebay)
3.) Buy a converted van (seem to be expensive with many miles on clock).

Personally i would like to get a panel van which is a blank canvas (4k should do it), but how much will a full conversion cost if i do it myslelf, i want wardrobes, RR bed electrics / lighting, cooker, fridge, lowered, alloys / windows. Down the road even put a pop top roof in (when the kids pop out). I have about 4k for the conversion if i spend 4k on the van. Is this enough?

I actually have no idea about products out there, whats good and whats not, so research is essential. But if anyone has any recommendations of products that would be amazing.

you can email me on [email protected]

Im based in manchester, so would like to meet other people and chat about the possibilities, as i dont want a botch job, or to waste money.

Cheers

Alex

·
Registered
31 Posts
Well for starters I love th way I am going with mine although I am also a complete noob at this, I bought a cheap panel van and have had the engine sorted although it still needs a few bits and Project power is the target, it was lined when I bought it but windows and other accessories means that I am virtually starting from scratch again and thoroughly loving the experience.
Its great to get a target and work towards it,

Really happy with mine

·
Registered
3,263 Posts