VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm new to the world of VW's and wondered if someone could advise if this van is good value or if i should avoid?

2002 T4 2.5 TDi
195k Miles
full conversion with pop top and rock and roll bed (no fridge)
leisure battery
front bench swivel seats
bumper needing respray
only 3 month MOT
Apart from bumper seems to be in good condition

£9k

My thoughts are due to the MOT length it s bit overpriced.

Any thoughts??

Thanks

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes i have the advisories were (from Oct 2019):

Monitor and repair if necessary (advisories):
  • o/s/f inner cv boot damaged slightly
  • slight play in o/s/f rack end

·
Full of Cr*p....
8,510 Posts
Personally, I think it's a little high for an 18 year old van with almost 200k on the clock.
However, if it's been serviced correctly, you can expect the same again to clock up.
What engine? (88 or 102.....if the 88 it must have had injectors changed, or you will need them.)
The 102 gearbox is also stronger....but people have clocked ridiculous mileage on the 88 box (so no real worry).
(Unless it's an auto....if not cared for correctly, RUN, don't walk away....cared for correctly...no worries.)

All the engines virtually last forever if serviced....the main problem is RUST (They ALL do it).
Check underneath for signs of new underseal.
Little rust on the arches is "normal"....if there is NONE, check very carefully that it hasn't just been "touched up".
Rusty arches (badly) often mean the inner arches are like spiders webs!
Sliding door.....same thing....check the sill underneath (and inside).
Windscreen leaks are becoming more problems these days....and require some work to fix....so check for BAD rust at the bottom corners. (Again, if they "look" perfect, see if you can spot any signs of being "fixed".)

If you think it's a serious option, offer to pay for an MOT inspection....and go from there.