VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My first contribution and complete newbie, so please don't shoot me down in flames :)
I've been looking at buying a camper of some sort for years but still not quite found the ideal van.
I need something practical enough to use fairly regularly and importantly, safely carry 2 kids.... and obviously camping in the summer.
We're a family of tent campers but getting tired of sleeping on the ground.
Budget is only really £10k ish which kind of limits my options.
Originally I was looking at a traditional T4 side conversion (with the option of awning or pop-top to sleep the kids) but I wouldn't want to strap my kids into anything other than a proper M1 crash-tested rock n roll bed... but anything like that is going to blow my budget out of the window.
So, one of the last vans I looked at was a T4 Multivan. It seems to do everything I need it to do. Safe seats for the kids. Comfy bed. Air-con & comforts and it's already properly insulated. Practical for regular use too. We don't do a lot of cooking when camping... just the odd bacon butty, so I could get away with taking out the buddy seats and adding some kind of fridge / kitchen pod and cooking outside in an awning or at the back of the van.
One thing that puts me off is a complete lack of storage for clothes / bags & bedding etc. There seems to be no way to add cupboard units. Really wishing the back seats were designed as split seats so that one could be removed leaving room for some sort of side unit for storage cupboards. I realise there's a bit of space under the seats at the back but it doesn't seem very practical to get to.
Does anyone have any practical experience of Multivans? Is storage space an issue?

·
Registered
6,154 Posts
My first contribution and complete newbie, so please don't shoot me down in flames :)
I've been looking at buying a camper of some sort for years but still not quite found the ideal van.