VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

First post so thanks for having me!

I've been looking at converting a T5 for a little while with various options, one that is stand out for me is having a sliding bed system on rails in the rear.
For my needs this is absolutely essential to have the kids up close and then the back free for gear/dogs/etc.

So far I was thinking of starting bare and finding a converter however an already converted T5 in good nick and great spec has kind of landed in my lap.
The caveat being it has a fixed RnR bed.

I can get hold of a California bed system and a converter who would fit it, but I assume that this would mean basically stripping out the conversion (furniture and floor) getting the rail system installed and then putting it all back in again.

Is this a doable job? I have little or no experience with conversions, but my old man is incredibly handy with all things DIY and mechanics.

Is it even possible to take furniture out without trashing it and putting it back in?

Thanks for all the advice in advance!

Steve

·
Registered
11,069 Posts
Hi Steve and welcome.
Anything is possible....but theres always gonna be hidden fixings that will be fun to hunt out.
Take your time and try not to damage anything.
Will the new bed work with the rest of your interior?

·
Premium Member
2,695 Posts
Welcome aboard Steve.
As B&T says anything is possible, the way I look at it, everything was fitted from within the van so everything can come out. The bed system was likely to be the last part fitted as the fitters would want / need full access while building and installing the cupboard furniture and utilities.

·
Registered
2,485 Posts