VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I have a 2013 T5.1 2.0 180hp 4motion.
While driving a few weeks ago, the engine just stopped.
Som troubleshooting revealed that the lift pump in the tank had stopped working.
I got the tank out, replaced it,
and primed the pump until I had diesel flowing nicely from the return line of the fuel rail.

But the engine still would not start.
Im a novice in vcds, but manage to do some diagnostics,
and there is no feedback from the cam position sensor while cranking.

So I took of the timing belt cover, and verified that the belt had not snapped.
Im thinking that the cam sensor itself might need replacing, but can't seem to find where it is located
on this engine.
Could anyone point me in the right direction here?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
A small update on this; I managed to locate the sensor.
It is positioned close to the camshaft gear, and the cable is routed behind
the timing belt. So the timing belt has to come of in order to change it.

I also ordered the water pump and timing belt kit,
as it makes sense to change these since the belt has to be removed anyway.

·
Registered
2004 T5 2.5 174
2,903 Posts
Be interested to see how you get on. Normally if the cam sensor fails the engine will still run using info from the crank sensor. Bad starting is usually the result, never heard of a cam sensor actually cause the engine to stop. Although if the crank sensor fails that will do it.

Did you find the cam signal in group 051, second figure in from the left? Don't know if it is the same on the 2.0 engines.

051,2,Camshaft Speed,(G40),Specification: Half Engine Speed ±50 RPM/min

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·