VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apologies for starting another alarm thread. I'm a newbie and am in need of an answer.
Recently bought an 05 Caravelle and have been advised to upgrade the security system from cat 2 to cat 1. This is where I get confused.
A Thatcham site I keep stumbling across says that post 03 Caravelles have a factory cat 1 system installed.
My 'velle has an alarm. There are sensors front and rear and a button or 2 on the B pillar. It was my dog which discovered the presence of the alarm system, by setting it off for me. The problem is that it is silent! The indicators flash but it doesn't make a sound.
The manual which came with the van says the alarm should sound the horn.
So, can anyone suggest why the alarm isn't alarming ?!
Btw, I don't have a silver box near the wiper motor, as far as I can tell. I also don't see why I should have one either - if the alarm should sound the horn.
Also, where should the alarm system gubbins be located?
Cheers.

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I found it! The silver box! It is there after all. Now I had looked a few times and a guy from the VW van centre had a look and could not find it. I was trying to find a route to run a cable from the battery to a leisure battery under the seat when I suddenly found it.
But how do you get it out? Can it be fixed? What might be wrong with it?
I did not want to risk breaking anything and I could not see how the plastic grille is attached. I removed a panel behind the battery. This allowed me to run my cable and remove some leaves from the plennum and also reach the silver box,but I could not work out how the wires were attached.
Any ideas gratefully received.
Thanks

·
Want Electrics? Go Wildebus!
8,099 Posts