VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, Newbie here.

I have just brought the above van and have noticed a couple of things that don’t seem right to me. I might just be worrying about nothing but I am sure you will let me know.

Anyway to the point, when the engine has been idling for a short while may be after a couple of minutes it develops a hissing noise. It also happens when the van is stationary after being drive for a while. Is this the norm for the 2.5 VW engine?

I have also been getting a fume like smell coming into the cab whenever the van is stationary e.g like being stationary at traffic lights or running it on the driveway whilst trying to identify where the hissing noise is coming from.

Are these two items linked? I have read a lot about hissing noises on here but only when the engine is under load.

I have told the dealer where I brought it from and am going to take it back to be inspected next week; however I would like to go armed with as much info as possible.

Thanks for any help/info in advance.

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
Hmm, do a forum search for "cracked manifold", I'm sure I've read that this is a problem on the 2.5 lump (I have a 1.9 so can't help too much). I just do a lot of reading and this may link the 2 problems together.

Sometimes associated with power loss, but if it's a new van, you wouldn't notice that.

Good luck in sorting it out.

Welcome to the forum BTW, hope you stay for a look around.

·
Registered
237 Posts
Hi, welcome to the forum T:

The smell in the cabin will almost definitely be linked to a cracked exhaust manifold. They are quite expensive to replace but I had mine welded up over 6 months ago for £100 (including getting it off and putting it back together) and it has been fine ever since.