VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.. I'm a newbie and this is my first post!

I'm about to purchase a t5 and having been a vito owner without bothering to upgrade in my last vehicle I'm after some advice.

I will be purchasing a 2DIN head unit with dav, DAB, iphone connectivity, bluetooth, cooks your lunch for you plus 4 x 50w out but I also want to do a speaker upgrade. The van will have a bulkhead so limited on cab space (not interested in sound in the back).

The speakers are low down so for clarity I guess it would be more important to fit a sub? If so where can I get some decent bass into the space available (I will have the three seats in the front) and is it also worth upgrading the door speakers? Should I also consider adding tweeters? And what sort of cost?

Plus how hard is it to get through to the engine bay to fit power for an amp - assuming I'd need one for the sub?

Cheers... real excited for a new van :D T:

Jen.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Hi Jen

Best upgrade I did was fit some pioneer 1703 component speakers. Supplied by Absolut5 on here. Makes a huge difference to stock setup. I did dynamat the doors and door cards while they were off. I also fitted a sub under the double passenger seat which again made things better but sadly when I replaced the passenger bench seat the sub had to go (for now).

There is a pretty active thread on here about replacing the front speakers with photos etc. might be worth checking that out.

Good luck

·
Premium Member
4,693 Posts
Hi.. I'm a newbie and this is my first post!

I'm about to purchase a t5 and having been a vito owner without bothering to upgrade in my last vehicle I'm after some advice.

I will be purchasing a 2DIN head unit with dav, DAB, iphone connectivity, bluetooth, cooks your lunch for you plus 4 x 50w out but I also want to do a speaker upgrade. The van will have a bulkhead so limited on cab space (not interested in sound in the back).