VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Just doing my first timing belt change. It’s my T5 1.9tdi BRS engine. 200k Kms. I’ve locked the crankshaft with the tool and the arrows aligned, and expected to see the camshaft aligned with the ‘4Z’ TDC arrow (the lugs should line up). But actually it’s about 2 teeth out i.e. the lugs are CCW of the TDC.

the engine was running fine I’ve had the van for 6000kms. There is a kind of loose knocking noise from the engine but I haven’t been able to locate it and am now wondering if it might be because of the potential misalignment of the camshaft...
I’m not an expert in these things so would greatly appreciate advice before putting the new belt on. Current state is crank and camshaft locked with tool and pin and old belt removed.
Also there are a couple of painted marks (see photo) which I guess are also for alignment of the camshaft and these are approximately 3.5 teeth CCW of the TDC. The tape I added to mark the current position with the crankshaft locked.
Thanks !
4BDD9C55-6174-45CA-9B25-54E8C5D4E858.jpeg

·
Registered
865 Posts
Get the pin in the hole, slacken 3 bolts if necessary and see if crankshaft mark/arrow is at about 7 O'Clock. Also look trough gearbox inspection hole for TDC mark. Make sure you have the right crank locking tool, there are a few variations across the range. Also you need to adjust syncro angle with VCDS but i am thinking you best leave it there if you're having trouble changing the belt...Also make sure you put the cam sprocket bolts in the middle of the holes as there is adjustments to be done, read syncro angle above...

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. Here's a couple of pics to help explain. Everything in the pics was done before removing the old timing belt. Locking pin (right one) is correctly situated on crankshaft: