VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I'm new to the forum and new to owning a T5. Got a 2009 T5 1.9l swb and hoping to do a camper conversion. I'm going to remove the row of 3 seats in the back which was put in by the previous owner. My question is do I need to remove the mounts that they clip into on the floor? I'm under the impression that these are attached to the underside of the van. Is it necessary to remove them, i.e. do they stick up above the floor when the seats are removed? If so can anyone recommend a good jack. I'd like to be able to get under the van to remove them myself rather than paying someone to do it for me and then I can hopefully use it to learn to do other work on the van. Is a trolley jack the best way to go or maybe a bottle jack that I've heard of? Also should I get axel stands? Sorry if the questions sound silly. I'm a complete beginner and really don't want the van to fall on top of me if I'm underneath it :D Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks, Phil.

·
Registered
941 Posts
Hi And welcome mate, every time i work on my bus i use a 3t trolley jack and axle stands, never take any chances working under any vehicle with only the jack holding the vehicle.

I also use ramps these are also a useful addition to any diy mechanics equipment.

p.s. get some pics up of the new investment . (y) (y)(y)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Awesome thanks for the reply. I'll take a few pics and put them up. Just wondered, what do you mean when you say 'ramps'?

·
Registered
941 Posts

These are ramps, very useful for maintenance on any vehicle,make sure you buy load correct ones for the van though (y)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ah right excellent. Thanks for the advice. I'll see if I can get some of those too.

·
Registered
941 Posts
No problem, don't be shy to ask , the guys on here are a right helpful bunch and know their stuff.

·
Premium Member