VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 364 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All, :D
Seeing myself and a few others have been having trouble with the van not starting but having no GLOW plug light when turning the ignition on, but engine is turning but not starting. :confused:
I had a lot of help from other forum members A: so I thought I put something back.

I AM NOT A VAN MECHANIC. I am going to be quoting plug/pin/wire numbers/colours BUT THEY MIGHT NOT BE THE CORRECT ONES IN YOUR VAN. So I may NOT be correct in some of the things written below. Hopefully thou this will give you a idea/pointers/starting point.
But before I start here are a basic observation;
Part of the key ignition switch goes to relay 109 “engine control module power supply relay”, 109 “coil” side goes to ground Via the ECU. 109 “switch” side goes ECU fuse and then into the ECU. SO if 109 has no earth it can’t “switch on” power to the ECU so it’s not doing it’s “thing” when engine is cranked over = no start.

A multi meter and spare wire/cable will be very handy!

This is what I did ON A T4 65KW 2.4 TDI AJT engine.
Check fuse’s inside the van, below right of the steering wheel and fuses inside the engine bay normally in front of battery. (In a black cover/box) if they all ok.
Find relay 109 (2nd row up 3rd one in from left) remove it and test Voltage at slot 4, slots should be numbered. (Terminal 30 slots into 4) page 80/3 http://www.vwbooks.co.uk/vw_info/T4_pdfs/vw_T4_engine_wiring_2002.pdf It should read 12V. If not it’s power supply to the relay. (can’t help you on this one!)

If 12V there, take the removed relay 109, there should be a little circuit diagram on the side, get a small length of wire and join it to terminal 30 then terminal 87, so you got a small loop, basically you bypass the switch in the relay. Put the relay back in the fuse block/box.
Put in key and see if the glow plug light comes on and try starting.