VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

My family and I are taking our T5 down to Greece this summer. We have friends who have a house in Naxos, so are taking it nice and slow there and back and staying in the house for week in the middle of the trip. The only thing is, I work as a freelance writer, and know that I need to be available during that time via email and, more than that, reliably available. So there may be things I need to work on and send to people I'm working for.

Has anyone looked into having in-vehicle Wi-Fi that I can connect to? I know there are 4G dongles on the market - does anyone have experience of using them?

I realise that most campsites have Wi-Fi, but I'm looking to avoid always camping in campsites (we have a van, so let's use it!) and also the stress of sometimes unreliable coverage from other people's networks.

And before anyone says 'You're on holiday - forget about work!", yes, I'd love to, but it's only because I do what I do that I can afford to take a month to drive down to Greece and back!

All comments gratefully received.

Tim

·
Registered
36 Posts
Hey Tim

We holiday in the new forest every year with the hounds and being a Sado I have to have internet , I started with 3g dongles on th 3 network and proved to be very reliable then went onto a MiFi , a glorified dongle the means you can use more than one device , like a mini network and found these to be reliable as well.

As for the coverage in Greece ( you would need to speak to the service provider ) I wouldn't have a clue but the one thing I have found it is better to buy more data to start off with as the top ups can be expensive , not sure if it has changed because the place we rent now has sky internet A: but I think the data lasted for a month.