VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
greetings t4 folks... :mw:mw

first post on here.... it looks a great forum.

just got a t4 panel van, its registered as a caravelle, dont know why because it not!

been looking at back seating/sleeping arrangements taking into consideration i am a drummer and when doing festis with the family, i want to have suitable space behind the seats for drum kit, aswell as having a boot space instead of having gear rattling about infront of the children when were in the move..... basicaly this has lead me to the volkswares seats.

would need to have 2 x 3 point inertia seat belts and stems fitted to the chassis and frame. am i right in thinking this would be fully safe?

http://http://www.volkswares.co.uk/t4/t4-rock-and-roll-bed/

read on a thread on here somewhere, someone was thinking you have to build a box to simulate where the rear engine might be for these bed design. spoke to the company today, and the whole thing is self supporting. the design looks like the old water cooled rear engine bed shape. its designed specifacly to create the boot space that im after.

if someone with any knowledge and experience of these beds could help me out, much appreciated.

thanks

gav

·
Registered
211 Posts
Sorry can't help you out, but a rock and roll bed for a rock and roller eh? :ILU:

I play the drums myself but don't think I'll ever get to play a festival. :(

What's your band like, any links?

·
Registered
2,798 Posts
I had one of these in my last van. Not sure how you will fit seatbelts, as frame is nowhere near strong enough to mount them from. Check out my 2nd build thread in my signature.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I had one of these in my last van. Not sure how you will fit seatbelts, as frame is nowhere near strong enough to mount them from. Check out my 2nd build thread in my signature.
hi gaz....wow! that is a beautiful conversion!!