VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new to this still and just about to start doing my first van conversion.
I'm looking at modifing some ikea kitchen cupboards as I see alot of people on here have done that and used them. I'm looking at just using van for weekends away or day trips etc, and I cant see a use for that tall cupboard alot of people have next to the RnR bed. I understand it has a high door to get access above the seat when up, but is this the only reason its high? Is it just an extra cupoard too?
Only reason why I ask is I think I can make do without this but would hate to realise I had forgot something major or useful in the summer when I could really do with it!!!
Any advice or pointers on what you people have realised or found out when carrying out your own fits or pro fits that would be very usefull so I can get the best use.
Thanks in advance!!!

·
Registered
52 Posts
Hi, when building my camper I wondered if I needed the cupboard you talk about and thought about leaving it out the build. I'm glad I didn't now because I used it to store my leisure battery at the bottom and with a shelf above the battery I use the remaining space to store my bedding. It also allows you to mount your zig unit, sockets etc on the side of the cupboard and I have mounted my mains consumer unit inside the cupboard as well. I have found after three years that you can never have enough storage space. I'm sure other prople will add their views and you can make a better decision then. Good luck with your build.

·
Previously; Stoo
3,271 Posts
Sorry, no pics of it all completed.
Although it was completed some months ago. Here are the high gloss units, you can just about see i mounted my electics in the middle cupboard:ILU:

·
Registered
153 Posts