VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
now I'm new to the world of all things mobile broadband but fancied having the Internet whilst away camping in van , so off i trot to pc world and purchase a 3 mobile broadband dongle thing , all is good as i thought , t4 forum in my dry warm van trying to avoid wales's frequent liquid sunshine showers T:

anyway down in wales camping , wet and windy as per , i think , i know i'll plug in the dongle and have a scan of the tinternet so plugged it in and tried to connect only to find i have no signal . ive tried the darn thing in a couple of locations now but the reception seems to be rubbish ( 1 bar if your lucky ) now is it just me and the places ive tried to connect or is this what so called "mobile" broadband is like i.e r

i was thinking of trying vodafone as i almost always have a good single on my mobile . any advice from those in the know would be fantastic

·
RIP
1,381 Posts
All depends on signal I suppose... I think 3 share their network with T mobile, so perhaps not worth trying T mobile dongles.

and to make you feel really bad you can get 'free' 3 Dongles here. http://www.3dongle4free.co.uk/

I got one , you pay £4.95 p&p but mine arrived in two days. I needed it as broadband backup in the house and the odd road trip.

Only downside with 3 I can see is that they take a week to register cards, but you can get online pretty quick by buying a voucher.

One thing, you could perhaps use your ordinary mobile phone if it has a modem inbuilt. Either use a cable or do it via bluetooth (another dongle to get though...).

I have a Nokia N95 and use a free programme call Joikuspot. It makes my N95 into a wifi hub, your computer see the phone as a Wifi Hotspot. Using the free version you cant get onto Https secure sites, but thats no real biggy, unless you really want to buy stuff online, or check your bank. Joikuspot works on a number of phones.

·
Registered
632 Posts