VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

Obviously I'm a newbie here, here's a fast track background. I bought spud my 98 reg converted t4 about a year ago. Always wanted one and finally bit the bullet. I separated from ex a few months ago and spud is mine so has come with me, ex wasn't bothered even when we went to South France last summer he didn't drive once! So I love my spud to bits as do the kids, BUT he has 200000 on the clock and a few dodgy noises going on, the interior is far from a good job and the clutch has pretty much gone, he has leaks and rattles and a few other issues, I've already spent a fortune on "let's see if this works" and it doesn't but I still have to pay up of course! So u would be thinking shall I sell...... No don't be daft I love my spud! But should I get a new engine dropped in or keep bettering on with getting clutch done and constant engine issues? He does have one thing going for him, from the outside he looks amazing, my spud turns heads, even more so when they see little me driving this beast! Will get a pic up soon!

So new engine or am I insane keeping my dream machine?

Miss sunshine xx

·
Registered
3,025 Posts
Hi there welcome to the forum what engine is in spud at the moment as this will help in the keep it or bin it debate 200000 and fitting a clutch is not bad in my book its a wearable part so is always going to need replacing at some point.

·
Registered
236 Posts
sounds like spud has done you proud be a shame say bye sure there people on here that could guide you as to where and what is best to do, take your time and im sure he will be fine

·
Registered
487 Posts
Several places in Lancashire that can re-build the engine/gearbox - rip the old interior out and go and see Toby @ T4 Life.

Keep itT:

Rob

·
Registered
82 Posts