VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Morning all, appologiges if this turns into a bit of rant!!

Im a drummer in a band and we use my T4 to lug around out gear and to travel in. Last night we played a local show in Southampton and parked (and loaded) from the the rear of the venue in what we thought was one of their spaces. I was inside just chatting with a few people that had come to see us when a guy from our record lable came and told me i'd been clamped - When we went out side it took us a good few minutes to find the tiny old beaten up sign saying it was a clamping area - Joy!

I had to be on stage in half hour so phoned them to "Air my frustration". I wasnt rude and i was calm but they did hear somone in the back grond say jokingly that wecould just lift the van up and take their clamp away. Within 5 mins they had sent a coiple of thugs out to scare us. In this time id had a chat with a mate of mine in the police who told me that if i could remove it without damageing it they could not prosocute me for criminal damage as they said they would on the clamp. I explained this to their muscle and they didnt know what was what and said fine if you want to remove it we dont care, so i left it at that and went inside to play the gig. Whilst n stage our singer told the clamping story to the crowd and took a vote to see if we should pay up or remove it - Had a big cheer for remove it and scilence for pay up!!

After the gig had finished our Tech (posh name for Roadie!) drove home and brought back some tools. I managed to slide the front of the clamp to one side to get to the wheel bolts, Undid the bottom swivel, anti roll bar drop link and shock and managed to remove the chain from my front suspension - Job done - Clampp off!