VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forge is expensive at £400+. It also appears to use the clip style hoses which are problematic.

Currently my gut is to go with the darkside developments one. Its £225 and looks like you can use their (hardpipe & silicone)kit, thus removing the problem of the VW clips...

I have no experience with either so would welcome some input.

Are there others that come recommended?

Cheers

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Unfortunately they dont appear to do one for the 1.9 engine which is whst ive got. Didnt stare that before sorry.
It also still uses the vw clip system on the pipes which i really want to get away from if possible ...

·
Super Moderator
9,193 Posts
Look at the 5.1 gp facelift ic as it's bigger and doesn't have the silly clips. It's also cheap compared with the others T: my forge ic keeps splitting through the welds :( but then I do run over 2 bar boost.

·
Premium Member
4,075 Posts
Unfortunately they dont appear to do one for the 1.9 engine which is whst ive got. Didnt stare that before sorry.
It also still uses the vw clip system on the pipes which i really want to get away from if possible ...
This is the one you would use that doesn't have the hose clips:-
http://www.wagner-tuning.uk/200001031.html

Mark is the UK Wagner importer, he may give you a slight deal in return for a little forum feedback when you fit it etc.

I rate Forge products and I even let them use our old Audi S3 to develop there intercooler kit on but for the t5 I still think the Wagner intercooler is a better product.

Just take a look at the pictures below of the Darkside, Forge, Wagner etc.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thanks Martin.
I've just gone ahead and ordered the darkside one.